New Nordic Directions
Undercurrents can be unpredictable and violent on occasion. This was certainly the case for Martti Vesala’s new Soundpost album: “I really intended for the music to sound more Nordic, to give it a sense of calm, longing and space,” he recalls. “I’m drawing inspiration from more varied sources now.”
This ambition matches the emotional oscillations of the autobiographical Landmarks, written during a period of personal turmoil. Everyone in the band has grown, starting with Vesala who draws a lot from non-trumpet greats like John Coltrane. The Soundpost Quintet members, meanwhile, are gelling tighter than ever while simultaneously excelling as individual instrumentalists. Landmarks is a rollercoaster ride entirely his own – and easily Martti Vesala’s biggest vision so far.

1 Wild Eyes 5:37
2 Night Flight Home 6:00
3 Travelogue 4:13
4 Magenta Drive 5:51
5 Trial By Fire 4:48
6 Landmarks 5:06
8 Double Image 5:08
9 Closer To The Surface 7:04

All compositions by Martti Vesala.
Published by Edition Ozella.


Release: OZ102CD

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors